يناير 4, 2022

تواجه برامج التأشيرة الذهبية تهديدًا وجوديًا (وليست بروكسل)

هجرة الاستثمار ، في عام 2021 ، هي صناعة عالمية تزيد قيمتها عن 25 مليار دولار. هذا كبير بما يكفي لجذب انتباهك. إنه كبير بما يكفي لوضعك على رادار الأشخاص الأقوياء مثل أورسولا فون دير لاين. إنه كبير بما يكفي لكسب هدف على ظهرك من المنظمين العالميين ومنافذ الوسائط المدمنة على النقرات.

في حين أن بروكسل لا تستطيع أن تملي على دول الاتحاد الأوروبي الفردية التي تجنسها ، وكيف تفعل ذلك ، فإنها يمكن أن تجعل الحياة صعبة بالنسبة للبلدان التي تقدم برامج التأشيرة الذهبية.

وبالمثل ، يمكنهم خنق المواطنة عن طريق تدفقات الأموال الاستثمارية عبر العلاقات المصرفية المراسلة. وكخيار نووي ، يمكن للاتحاد الأوروبي إلغاء امتيازات السفر بدون تأشيرة للحصول على الجنسية من قبل الدول الاستثمارية في منطقة البحر الكاريبي وجنوب المحيط الهادئ. ولكن من الذي سيدفع إذن لإعادة إعمار فانواتو والدول الجزرية الأخرى بعد كل عاصفة استوائية مدمرة؟

لذلك ، يجب التغلب على معظم هذه التهديدات والتحديات. سيواصل مجلس هجرة الاستثمار ممارسة الضغط. سيتم تقديم اللوائح بمرور الوقت. سيتم طرد الممثلين السيئين – والأصغر – ، وسيستمر احترام الصناعة في الارتفاع بمرور الوقت.

لذلك ، على الرغم من كونها مقلقة ، لا تشكل أي من هذه المخاطر خطر الانقراض على الصناعة.

هنا وهناك ، توافق الحكومة على برنامج المواطنة عن طريق الاستثمار وتغلقه بسبب فضيحة محرجة ، أو أن دولة تابعة لاتحاد الجمهوريات الاشتراكية السوفياتية السابقة المتعثرة تلغي الجنسية عن طريق برامج الاستثمار مقابل سخاء من الاتحاد الأوروبي. في مكان آخر ، يوافق المرشحون للانضمام إلى الاتحاد الأوروبي على وقف جواز سفرهم عن طريق عروض الاستثمار كشرط مسبق للانضمام إلى الاتحاد.

ولكن بشكل عام ، استمر قطار الإقامة والمواطنة عن طريق الاستثمار في العمل.

الأخبار السيئة؟

الأوقات الجيدة لن تدوم. والمشكلة الحقيقية هي الاقتراب من اتجاه آخر بالكامل.

وسائل مستقلة تعتبر التأشيرات ملكًا في عالم يكون المتقدمون فيه على استعداد للانتقال جسديًا

كان صعود تأشيرة البرتغال D7 مجرد نذير بزوال التأشيرة الذهبية الوشيك.

إن تأشيرة D7 موجودة منذ فترة طويلة ، ومن يروجون منا للتأشيرات الذهبية استفادوا بشكل كبير من غموضها. التأشيرات الذهبية ، حسب تعريفها ، هي خطط احتياطية ، وهي مبالغة للغاية بالنسبة للأشخاص الذين يسعون بالفعل إلى الهجرة.

في جنوب إفريقيا ، على الأقل ، اقترب عدد كبير من المتقدمين المحتملين من إجمالي الناتج المحلي من سن التقاعد خلال السنوات الخمس إلى العشر الماضية ؛ إنهم يتمتعون بكفاءة عالية ، وقد أحبوا فكرة وجود خطة احتياطية ، والتي تبرر إلى حد كبير من خلال الحصول على منزل لقضاء العطلات في أوروبا.

ولكن مع ازدياد وتيرة تقاعد كبير للمواليد الجدد الآن ، يمكن لأولئك الذين يسعون إلى التقاعد فعليًا في الخارج بدلاً من ذلك اختيار الحصول على تأشيرة D7 ، دون أي استثمار أو رسوم باهظة ، والاستمرار في حياتهم في الخارج بمجرد أن يكونوا مستعدين للانتقال.

وكان كل هذا قد بدأ بالفعل بحلول وقت خروج بريطانيا من الاتحاد الأوروبي وترامب. حول جائحة كوفيد وردود فعل الحكومة الصارمة في جميع أنحاء العالم هذا اللهب إلى حريق هائل.

بدلاً من الرغبة في خيار التحرك ، بدأت الجماهير من العالمين الأول والنامي في التخلص من المراوغة في عام 2020.

إذن ، للتلخيص:

  • لقد كانت التأشيرات الذهبية إلى حد كبير منتجًا للغرور باهظ الثمن للقلة النادرة.
  • مع بدء وصول مجموعة المشترين المؤهلين إلى سن التقاعد ، تتضاءل حاجتهم للمنتج.
  • مع نمو سمعة تأشيرة D7 خلال الوباء ، تضاءل عدد الأشخاص الراغبين في شراء تأشيرة ذهبية بهدف الاستقرار في أوروبا – بين عشية وضحاها تقريبًا.

لكن سيكون من الخطأ أن ننسب ذبح D7ديفيد يقتل جالوت فيزا ذهبية فقط إلى سعرها المناسب إلى حد كبير ؛ كما يتغير ملف تعريف متقدم D7 المتوسط بسرعة.

فبدلاً من أن يكونوا متقاعدين ، أصبح العديد من المتقدمين اليوم عمالاً أصغر سناً عن بعد يسعون إلى نوعية حياة أفضل. وليست الدول النامية فقط هي من تتقدم بطلبات ؛ في الواقع ، في D7 تأشيرة ، تمثل الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والمملكة المتحدة نصيب الأسد من المتقدمين في أي شهر معين.

ويرتبط سبب سماح الحكومة البرتغالية لغير المتقاعدين بالتقدم ، حتى على أساس الدخل من غير المعاشات التقاعدية ، بديناميكيات العرض والطلب على المواهب في كل من البرتغال وعبر أوروبا القارية.

دعونا نلقي نظرة على الصورة العمرية لسكان الاتحاد الأوروبي أدناه:

التدخل التشريعي على مستوى الاتحاد الأوروبي: برنامج البطاقة الزرقاء للاتحاد الأوروبي للأفراد المؤهلين تأهيلاً عالياً * تتمتع بالفعل بقوة جذب كبيرة في ألمانيا.

لأسباب مرهقة إلى حد ما ، وغالبًا ما تكون عرقية قومية ، سعت سياسات الهجرة في الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى إبقاء الجنوب العالمي خارج القارة على مدار العقدين الماضيين.

ولكن مع تقدم سكان أوروبا في السن مع مرور كل عام ، نشاهد انعكاسًا في عرض المواهب وديناميكيات الطلب في الوقت الفعلي.

يحتاج الاتحاد الأوروبي إلى المهاجرين الشباب المهرة للحفاظ على نموه الاقتصادي في العقد المقبل وما بعده. وهناك بالفعل نقص عالمي في المواهب التقنية الماهرة.

لذلك ، للحفاظ على قدرتها التنافسية من حيث رأس المال البشري ، تعتمد المزيد من الدول الأوروبية تشريعات الهجرة التي تسهل على الأفراد المهرة الانتقال إلى أوروبا. ومع تسارع هذا الاتجاه ، ستجد دول الاتحاد الأوروبي نفسها تحت ضغط “لتيسير الصفقة” بمتطلبات برنامج أقل مرهقة ، وحوافز ضريبية ، ومتطلبات حد أدنى للإقامة أقصر بشكل حاسم.

كل هذا يقوض بالفعل حالة استخدام التأشيرات الذهبية ويوفر خيارات تسوية قابلة للتطبيق للأشخاص الذين ، قبل عقد من الزمن ، كان من المحتمل أن يختاروا التأشيرة الذهبية للدخول إلى أوروبا.

مجتمعة ، تشكل هذه التطورات ، أكثر من أي تنظيم أو تهديد من بروكسل ، تهديدًا منهجيًا لبرامج التأشيرة الذهبية الكلاسيكية القائمة على العقارات حتى عام 2022.

المفتاح الذي يأخذ خارج؟

  • شيخوخة سكان أوروبا – وفي بعض الحالات تقلصهم – تشكل خطرا كبيرا على النمو الاقتصادي المستدام في القارة.
  • سيكون جذب المواهب ذات المهارات العالية مجالًا للميزة التنافسية – أو الحرمان – في أوروبا خلال العقد المقبل.
  • في حين أن التركيز العرقي القومي كان على إبقاء مواطني الدول الثالثة بالخارج ، هناك إلحاح متزايد حول جلب العمال المهرة الأجانب ورجال الأعمال إلى أوروبا.
  • مع إطلاق المزيد والمزيد من برامج تأشيرات “اكتساب المواهب” المتنافسة في أوروبا ، يجب أن تصبح الصفقات الضريبية أفضل. يجب أن تكون الجداول الزمنية للحصول على الإقامة الدائمة والمواطنة أقصر ، وأن تكون متطلبات البرنامج أقل تقييدًا ، حتى تظل البرامج الحالية قادرة على المنافسة. تحذو حذوها في العام المقبل مع خططهم المعلنة مؤخرًا لإنشاء برنامج تأشيرة من نوع بدء التشغيل لرواد الأعمال الأجانب.)
  • على مدار العقد المقبل ، ستكون الحكومات التي تنتهز ميزة المحرك الأول لإعادة اختراع نفسها في سياق “الحكومة كخدمة” ، بما في ذلك تلك التي تقدم بالفعل برامج تأشيرات التسوية ، أكبر الفائزين في السباق للحصول على المواهب الجديدة والنمو الاقتصادي.
  • مع انتشار مجموعة برامج الهجرة التجارية وتأشيرات الإقامة في أوروبا ، فإن التسليع الحالي للإقامة الأوروبية سيتسارع فقط كإتجاه.
  • وبما أن متطلبات الاستثمار ومتطلبات الكسب والحد الأدنى من متطلبات الإقامة تصبح أقل صرامة بمرور الوقت ، فإن المنتجات القديمة ذات التذاكر الكبيرة مثل التأشيرات الذهبية ستصبح عتيقة وعفا عليها الزمن ومن المستحيل بيعها.

ميزة المحرك الأول هي كل شيء.

كانت الشركات مثل مجموعة هارفي القانونية من بين أول من اهتم بحراسهم وبدءوا في سحب التأشيرات الذهبية من الرف في أبريل 2019. وبالمثل ، انتقلنا من التأشيرات الذهبية إلى تأشيرات التسوية في الاتحاد الأوروبي وتأشيرات تنظيم المشاريع في عام 2020.

أبلغت الشركات في جميع أنحاء العالم عن تباطؤ في مبيعات التأشيرة الذهبية ، حيث اختار العديد البدء في الترويج لتأشيرة D7 البرتغالية بهدف البقاء واقفة على قدميها أثناء عمليات الإغلاق الوبائي.

لذلك ، إذا لم يؤثر أي من هذه الاتجاهات الناشئة على النتيجة النهائية لشركتك حتى الآن ، فهذه مسألة وقت فقط.

وإذا كانت شركتك تركز على التأشيرة الذهبية ، ولم يكن فريقك جالسًا لمراجعة إستراتيجية المنتج الخاصة بك لمدة 5 سنوات بجدية حتى عام 2022 ، فقد يكون هذا أحد الاجتماعات السنوية الأخيرة لبدء التشغيل التي تعقدها كمصدر قلق مستمر.

الكاتب: Andre Bothma

المصدر: www.imidaily.com

×

January 4, 2022

Golden Visa Programs Face an Existential Threat (And It’s Not Brussels)

Investment migration, in 2021, is a $25 billion-plus global industry. That’s big enough to get you noticed. It’s big enough to get you on the radar of powerful people like Ursula von der Leyen. It’s big enough to earn you a target on your back from global regulators and clicks-addicted media outlets. 

While Brussels can’t dictate to individual EU countries whom they naturalize, and how they do it, they can make life difficult for the countries offering Golden Visa programs. 

Similarly, they can throttle CBI money flows via correspondent banking relationships. And, as a nuclear option, the EU could revoke the visa-free travel privileges of the CBI countries in the Caribbean and the South Pacific. But then who would pay for the reconstruction of Vanuatu and other island nations after every devastating tropical storm?

So, most of these threats and challenges ought to be surmountable. The IMC will keep on lobbying. Regulation will be introduced over time. Bad – and smaller – actors will be ousted, and the industry’s respectability should continue climbing over time. 

So, while disconcerting, none of these risks constitute an extinction-level risk for the industry. 

Here and there, a government acquiesces and shutters its CBI program over an embarrassing scandal, or a struggling former USSR satellite state cans its CIP in exchange for largesse from the EU. Elsewhere, EU accession hopefuls agree to discontinue their passport by investment offerings as a precondition for joining the Union.

But by and large, the RCBI train has kept chugging along.

The bad news?

The good times are not going to last. And the real trouble is approaching from another direction entirely.

Independent means visas are king in a world where applicants are willing to physically relocate

The ascent of the Portugal D7 Visa was merely a harbinger of the Golden Visa’s coming demise.

The D7 Visa has been in existence for a long time, and those of us promoting Golden Visas profited handsomely from its obscurity. Golden Visas, per definition, are backup plans, and they’re very much overkill for people actually seeking to emigrate.

In South Africa, at least, a large percentage of prospective GV applicants have been approaching retirement age for the past 5 to 10 years; they are well-heeled, and liked the idea of having a backup plan, in large part justified by also acquiring a holiday home in Europe. 

But with the Great Baby Boomer Retirement now gaining pace, those seeking to actually retire abroad could instead simply choose to obtain a D7 Visa, without any investment or hefty fees, and get on with their lives abroad once they’re ready to move.

And all of this was already coming into play by the time Brexit and Trump hit. The Covid pandemic and draconian government reactions worldwide turned this flame into a conflagration. 

Instead of wanting the option to move, masses of people from both the first and developing worlds started getting the hell out of dodge in 2020.

So, to recap:

  • Golden Visas have very much been a pricey vanity product for the rarified few.
  • As the pool of eligible buyers starts reaching retirement age, their need for the product is waning.
  • As the D7 Visa’s reputation grew during the pandemic, the number of people willing to buy a Golden Visa with a view to settling in Europe cratered – virtually overnight.

But it would be a mistake to attribute the D7 David slaying Golden Visa Goliath only to its vastly more affordable price point; the profile of the average D7 applicant is also changing fast. 

Instead of being retirees, today, many applicants are younger remote workers seeking a better quality of life. And it’s not just developing nations who are applying; in fact, at D7 Visa, the USA and UK account for the lion’s share of applicants in any given month.

And the reason the Portuguese government is allowing non-retirees to apply, even on the basis of non-pension income, relates to the talent supply-and-demand dynamics at play, both in Portugal and across mainland Europe.

Let’s look at the EU’s population age picture below:

blank
EU-WIDE LEGISLATIVE INTERVENTION: EU BLUE CARD PROGRAM FOR HIGHLY QUALIFIED INDIVIDUALS
*Already enjoys significant traction in Germany.

For fairly tiresome, often ethno-nationalist reasons, EU immigration policies have sought to keep the Global South out of the continent for the past couple of decades.

But as the populations of Europe get older with every passing year, we’re watching a reversal of talent supply and demand dynamics in real-time. 

The EU needs young, skilled migrants to sustain its economic growth in the next decade and beyond. And there is already a global shortage of skilled tech talent.

So, to remain competitive in terms of human capital, more European nations are adopting immigration legislation that makes it far easier for skilled individuals to move to Europe. And as this trend accelerates, EU nations will find themselves under pressure to “sweeten the deal” with less onerous program requirements, tax incentives, and, critically, shorter minimum stay requirements.

All of this is already undermining the usage case for Golden Visas and providing viable settlement options for people who, a decade ago, would likely have had to opt for a Golden Visa in order to get in the European door. 

In combination, these developments, more than any regulation or threat from Brussels, poses a systemic threat to classic, real-estate-based Golden Visa programs going into 2022.

The key take-outs?

  • The aging – and, in some instances, shrinking – populations of Europe pose a major risk to sustainable economic growth on the continent.
  • Attracting highly skilled talent is going to be an area of competitive advantage – or disadvantage – in Europe during the next decade.
  • Whereas the ethno-nationalist emphasis has been on keeping third-country nationals out, there is an escalating urgency around getting foreign skilled workers and entrepreneurs into Europe.
  • As more and more competing “talent acquisition” visa programs launch in Europe, the tax deals will have to get sweeter. The timelines to permanent residency and citizenship will have to get shorter, and the program requirements less restrictive, in order for existing programs to remain competitive.(Portugal currently sets the benchmark for overall appeal, tax benefits, and accessibility, but Spain looks set to follow suit in the coming year with their recently announced plans to create a startup-type visa program for foreign entrepreneurs.)
  • Over the next decade, the governments that seize first-mover advantage to reinvent themselves within a “Government As A Service” context, including those already offering settlement visa programs, will be the biggest winners in the race for new talent and economic growth.
  • As the range of business immigration and settlement visa programs in Europe proliferates, the current commoditization of European residency will only accelerate as a trend.
  • And as investment requirements, earning requirements, and minimum stay requirements become less stringent over time, big-ticket legacy products like Golden Visas will increasingly become antiquated, outmoded, and impossible to sell.

First mover advantage is everything.

Firms such as Harvey Law Group were among the first to heed their sentinels and start taking Golden Visas off the shelf in April 2019. We, similarly, pivoted from Golden Visas to EU settlement visas and entrepreneurial visas in 2020.

Firms around the world are reporting a slowdown in Golden Visa sales, with many opting to start promoting Portugal’s D7 Visa with a view to stay afloat during the pandemic lockdowns.

So, if none of these emerging trends are impacting your firm’s bottom line yet, it’s only a matter of time. 

And If your firm is Golden Visa focused, and your team isn’t sitting down to seriously review your 5-year product strategy going into 2022, it may well be one of the last annual kickoff meetings you hold as a running concern.

Editor: Andre Bothma

Source: www.imidaily.com

×